About Us: Oklahoma EPSCoR

Oklahoma NSF EPSCoR Research Infrastructure Improvement Award No. OIA-1301789

Oklahoma EPSCoR
415 Whitehurst Hall
Stillwater, OK  74078

Ph:  405.744.9964
Fax:  405.744.7688
Email:  gmiller@okepscor.org

The Oklahoma Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (OK EPSCoR) was initiated by the National Science Foundation in 1985 to strengthen Oklahoma’s exploration and growth in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. 

Oklahoma EPSCoR’s central goal is to increase the state’s research competitiveness through strategic support of research instruments and facilities, research collaborations, and integrated education and research programs.

The national NSF EPSCoR program is designed to benefit states, including Oklahoma, that have historically received lesser amounts of competitive research and development funding. Twenty-eight states, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Territory of Guam, and the United States Virgin Islands are currently eligible to participate.

EPSCoR provides support for key research areas at Oklahoma’s public universities, while also establishing partnerships with higher education, government and industry to effect lasting progress in the state’s research infrastructure, research and development capacity, and R&D competitiveness. The goal is to stimulate lasting research infrastructure improvements in Oklahoma.  Access the national NSF EPSCoR brochure

The National Science Foundation awarded Oklahoma EPSCoR $20 million in 2013 for the program’s Research Infrastructure and Improvement (RII) Plan: "Adapting Socio-ecological Systems to Increased Climate Variability."  NSF grant award number IIA-1301789 began June 1, 2013, and is scheduled to conclude in 2018.  Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education will match the NSF award with an additional $800,000/year to further support climate variability research and educational outreach programs throughout Oklahoma.

Oklahoma EPSCoR State Advisory Committee

In July 2000, the Oklahoma EPSCoR Advisory Committee was codified by statute as an advisory committee to the State Regents. The committee, which is chaired by the chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education, is made up of esteemed members of business, government and academia. The purpose of the committee is to promote cooperative research efforts among public and private universities in Oklahoma; promote private sector involvement in university research and encourage technology transfer; promote human resource development in science and engineering within the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education; recommend research projects when only a limited number may be submitted by the State of Oklahoma; and appoint the EPSCoR director.
Click here to access the list of EPSCoR State Advisory Committee members.

Oklahoma EPSCoR External Advisory Board

The State EPSCoR Advisory Committee has appointed an External Advisory Board (EAB) for the climate variability research theme area on the recommendation of the Executive Committee. The EAB consists of four discipline-specific experts from out-of-state universities and federal laboratories.  EAB members are:  

Dr. Amy Ando
Professor of Environmental and Natural Resource Economics
Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Head of Academic Programs
Dept. of Agricultural and Consumer Economics
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 

Dr. Ingrid (Indy) Burke
Professor of Botany and Prof. of Ecosystem Science and Management
Wyoming Excellence Chair of Ecology
Director of Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources
University of Wyoming

Dr. Tom Dietz
Professor of Sociology and Prof. of Environmental Science and Policy
Assistant Vice President for Research and Graduate Study
Research Faculty, Center for Systems Integration and Sustainability
Research Faculty, Michigan Agricultural Experiment Station
Michigan State University

Dr. Daniel Wildcat
Co-Director, Haskell Environmental Research Studies Center
Professor of American Indian Studies
Haskell Indian Nations University

The EAB has been tasked with meeting twice during the second year of the program and at least once a year thereafter. The EAB conducts a technical and scientific review of the EPSCoR program at least once a year. Their review is based in part on research milestones and may include recommendations to the EC, the project director and the State EPSCoR Advisory Committee on the redirection or elimination of project aims and funds. In addition to their oversight responsibility, the EAB members also serve as an important resource for scientific, technical and management support.

For more information about EPSCoR programs, contact Gina Miller, outreach coordinator, at gmiller@okepscor.org or call 405.744.9964.